Cookie of the Week: Mint Brownies

May 22, 2011 at 12:48 pm 4 comments

This post is dedicated to 50 Farnsworth Drive and some incredible women I rented a house with after college. Rent was $137 a month, heat and hot water included, and some days I wonder why I ever left!

There were four of us in the place at a time, but in all, I lived with or got to know about six women through the house and we still get together. The “girls,” my non-related sisters, loved to bake and the kitchen was decent-sized and able to accommodate our passion. Even better, there was always much sampling to do.

This recipe is easy and great for a crowd and looks impressive. I have tried it with from-scratch brownies but have to admit that in this instance, I prefer a store mix using the cake-like option for baking.

Mint Brownies

Make a brownie mix in a 13 x 9 pan, following cake-like directions.

Let brownies cool.

Mint Frosting
2 cups confectioner’s  sugar
1/2 cup butter
3 tablespoons creme de menthe

Mix together till creamy and well blended.
Spread on cool brownies.

Chocolate Frosting
Melt 6 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips and 6 tablespoons of butter in a double boiler.
Spread over mint frosting.

Refrigerate for a few hours or till set before slicing.

I have also tried this recipe using a peanut butter frosting with less confectioner’s sugar, but the mint is still my favorite combination.

Here’s the old place from a Google search! Much bigger than it looks with five bedrooms and three bathrooms. Cheers to roommates!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

COOKIE OF THE WEEK: Heath Bar PB & Chocolate Chip Cookies Homemade at Hess

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donn  |  May 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    II remember when Doug and I moved you into that house!

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  May 28, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Sorry, typed my name wrong 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Freddie Dunn  |  May 31, 2011 at 12:43 am

    I just gained 2 pounds looking at those brownies!

    My sister now lives across the street from there.

    Reply
  • […] for cookies during the hot days of summer. This is an old favorite from my roommates, mentioned in previous posts,  and a fun cookie to make with kids.  I think we used to call them “chong won […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Feeds

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

